The ever dreaded rest day

Today I forced myself to take a break from running. The family and I decided to take a trip to the mall and let my daughter play in the children’s area. “Play babies” she always exclaims! She had a great time and I got to walk around and window shop. I also ate a delicious subway club, which I haven’t had in forever. The hubs and my daughter ate at Fuddruckers beforehand, but I opted out. I made a good decision and had zero regrets.

image Rest days are mentally very difficult for me. In the back of my mind, I have this nagging fear that I’ll fall off the wagon, assume old bad habits. I’ve been what I consider a serious runner for about two years now. I know it won’t happen as I love running too much, but it’s just this dull ever-present guilt in the back of my mind. I’m hoping it’ll get easier with time to the point where I celebrate rest days. I actually prefer to push myself hard because the satisfaction is so rewarding. I do know how important it is to allow your body time to recover. It’s necessary and will even help your next workouts to be more effective.image I did some strength training tonight along with a half hour on the elliptical. I got to try out some new gloves as my hands would feel kind of rough afterwards. I’m happy that I’ve started lifting and will be the first to admit that I’m a total newbie. I try to lift a couple times per week. The progress I’ve already seen is addicting!imageI am running the Disney half marathon next month. My first Run Disney race! Ahh I cannot wait! I’m not sure what’ll be more fun, running the race or seeing my daughter’s face when she meets Minnie Mouse! Well, that’s it for today. Thanks for reading.

7 thoughts on “The ever dreaded rest day”

  1. Everyone’s costumes! There were so many people it was a ton of fun–just a little crowded in places. There were also characters all along the route for pictures which was really cool! The medal is really pretty too.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. They were kind of long–I had a faster friend who ran up and got in line and when I plodded up I jumped in with her. I’m not fast at all though–was very worried about getting pulled from the course but that didn’t happen. You can also get pics in the parks with your medal!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

